Who's who?

Partnership Director

Tom Flanagan was appointed Partnership Director for Tactran and started in post in July 2018 following a period as Interim Head of Economic Development at Perth & Kinross Council.

Tom was previously Executive Director Place for Blackburn with Darwin BC in Lancashire where he drove the delivery of an ambitious growth strategy to delivery jobs, homes and secure income streams. Before joining BwD, Tom held the strategic policy lead role with Oxfordshire County Council, established the local Transport Board, acted as Programme Director for the City Deal and supported development of the Growth Deal. Tom also served as the Corporate Director for Environment, Planing and Economy Cornwall from March 2009 to May 2012.

Tom holds a Doctorate and honours degree in Civil Engineering specialising in Traffic & Transportation and also Postgraduate qualifications in Coaching and Psychology. Tom is married to Leona, has 3 daughters and 6 grandchildren. He is a scouser by birth, an avid Liverpool fan and holds a season ticket to Anfield.

Senior Partnership Manager

Niall Gardiner took up the post of Senior Partnership Manager on 1st May 2016.  He was previously Tactran's Projects Manager from 29th October 2007. Niall joined tactran from Dundee City Council and has 30 years' experience working in Transportation with Tactran, Dundee City Council and Tayside Regional Council.  Niall has a BEng in Civil Engineering, an MSc in Transportation Engineering and is a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

Senior Strategy Officer

Jonathan Padmore took up the post of Senior Strategy Officer on 8th January 2018.  Jonathan joined from Stirling Council and has 25 years experience working in transport planning roles for Stirling Council, St. Helen's and Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council's in Merseyside, Norfolk County Council and Aberdeen City Council.  Jonathan is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and has a BSc in Geography from Glasgow University and an MA in Environmental Planning from Nottingham University.

Strategy Officer (Strategic Connectivity)

Niall Moran joined Tactran in December 2017 from Perth & Kinross Council where he was a Transport Planning Officer within the Council's Strategy and Policy team.  Niall has also worked for the Council's Public Transport Unit that coordinates and manages the local bus network and home to school transport services.  Niall is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Logistics & Transport and has an MSc in Transport Planning and Engineering from Napier University.

Strategy Officer (Sustainable Transport)

Graeme Brown started in the post of Strategy Officer for Sustainable Transport in January 2018.  Graeme joined the team after a short period with the National Entitlement Card Programme helping develop smart and integrated ticketing initiatives.  Graeme previously held the position as the Partnerships Manager for Sustrans helping develop active travel programmes and projects across Scotland.

Regional Cycle Training & Development Officer

Marianne Scott took up the post of Regional Cycling Training and Development Officer in conjunction with Cycling Scotland in June 2016.

Office Manager / PA to Director

Ashley Roger took up the post of Office Manager / PA to Director on 29th January 2007. Ashley joined Tactran from the private sector and has 15 years office management / PA experience.

Councillor Members

The Tactran Board includes 10 Councillor Members from the four constituent Councils. The members that have been elected to date are:

Angus Council

Provost Ronnie Proctor
Cllr Mark McDonald

Dundee City Council

Cllr Richard McReady (Chair)

Cllr Alan Ross

Cllr Mark Flynn

Perth & Kinross Council

Cllr Alasdair Bailey

Cllr David Illingworth
Cllr Andrew Parrott

Stirling Council

Cllr Danny Gibson
Cllr Jim Thomson

The Current Council appointments are for 4 years until the next Council elections in 2021.

Non-Councillor Members

The Minister for Transport has also endorsed the appointment of five Non-Councillor Members:


Heather Anderson
Non Councillor Member

Mark Craske
NHS Health representative

Paul Cronin
Non Councillor Member
David Scotney
David has spent over 40 years working in transport research, planning, engineering and management, This was primarily with local authorities, but latterly has encompassed consultancies and academia. He at present works part-time as a Research Fellow at the Transport Research Institute at Edinburgh Napier University.

Tactran Register of Interests

Advisors / Observers

The Transport Act enables Regional Transport Partnerships to appoint advisors/observers, to assist the work of the Partnerships. Tactran currently has one appointed advisor.

Sustrans Infrastructure Partnership Manager

The Infrastructure Partnership Manager for Sustrans, Sustrans is a leading charity enabling people to choose healthier, cleaner and cheaper journeys.