Tactran is one of seven statutory Regional Transport Partnerships covering the whole of Scotland, which were created under the Transport (Scotland) Act 2005.

The Tactran region forms an important "hub" lying at the heart of Scotland's transport network and includes the local authority areas of Angus, Dundee City, Perth & Kinross and Stirling which together make up just under 10% of Scotland’s land mass and nearly 12% of the nation’s population.


The primary purpose of the Partnership is to develop a Regional Transport Strategy setting out a vision for the medium to long term future of transport in the area and to oversee its implementation.

Through development and delivery of our RTS the Partnership seeks to ensure that the diverse range of the region's transport needs are recognised and addressed.