Journey Planner

Traveline Scotland Tactran Connect

Who's who?


Partnership Director

Eric Guthrie took up post as Partnership Director on 17th July 2006. He has over 30 years experience in transport, most of this in the fields of public transport coordination and transportation with local government. Most recently he was employed as Head of Transportation with Aberdeenshire Council, from March 2000 until his appointment with Tactran.

As the Partnership's Chief Officer, Eric is responsible for ensuring that the Partnership meets all of its statutory duties and for managing the Partnership and its resources.

Senior Partnership Manager

Niall Gardiner took up the post of Senior Partnership Manager on 1st May 2016.  He was previously Tactran's Projects Manager from 29th October 2007. Niall joined tactran from Dundee City Council and has over 27 years experience working in Transportation with Tayside Regional Council and Dundee City Council. Niall is a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers and has a MSc in Transportation Engineering from Napier University.

Strategy Manager

Michael Cairns took up the post of Strategy Manager on 19th November 2007. Michael joined Tactran from Cheshire County Council and over 30 years experience in mainly local authorities in England, Scotland and Wales. Michael has worked in public transport co-ordination, transport planning, traffic engineering and parking management. Michael is a member of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and the Institution of Civil Engineers and has degrees in Geography and Transport Engineering..

Active Travel Officer

Nina Gillespie took up the post of Active Travel Officer in conjunction with Sustrans on 5th January 2016.


Office Manager / PA to Director

Ashley Roger took up the post of Office Manager / PA to Director on 29th January 2007. Ashley joined Tactran from the private sector and has 15 years office management / PA experience.

Councillor Members

The Tactran Board includes 10 Councillor Members from the four constituent Councils. The members that have been elected to date are:

Angus Council

Cllr Ronnie Proctor Cllr Lynne Devine


Dundee City Council

Cllr Bill Campbell Cllr Will Dawson (Chair) Cllr Brian Gordon


Perth & Kinross Council

Cllr Mike Barnacle Cllr John Kellas Cllr Alan Livingstone


Stirling Council

Cllr Danny Gibson Cllr Alycia Hayes


The Current Council appointments are for 5 years until the next Council elections in 2017.

Non-Councillor Members

The Minister for Transport has also endorsed the appointment of five Non-Councillor Members:


Mark Craske
NHS Forth Valley




Doug Fleming (Vice Chair)

Doug recently retired from the bus industry. He was most recently employed as Managing Director of Stagecoach East Scotland and formerly General Manager of Travel Dundee.



Gavin Roser

Gavin has 40 years of transport experience and he is well known for lateral vision in all modes of freight transport. He comes from a background of senior appointments with road, rail and shipping companies.

David Scotney

David Scotney

David has spent over 40 years working in transport research, planning, engineering and management, This was primarily with local authorities, but latterly has encompassed consultancies and academia. He at present works part-time as a Research Fellow at the Transport Research Institute at Edinburgh Napier University.




Trudi Craggs




Tactran Register of Interests

Advisors / Observers

The Transport Act enables Regional Transport Partnerships to appoint advisors/observers, to assist the work of the Partnerships. Tactran currently has one appointed advisor.

TAYplan Development Manager

The Strategic Development Manager for TAYplan, the Development Planning Authority for Dundee City, Perth & Kinross, Angus and North Fife.

Sustrans Infrastructure Partnership Manager

The Infrastrucure Partnership Manager for Sustrans, Sustrans is a leading charity enabling people to choose healthier, cleaner and cheaper journeys.